The 21st Century Resume

My wife was working on her resume, returning to the work force after five years time out for motherhood duties. What struck me was her challenge to make it appear she not stagnated in her career. Which got me thinking about my own resume. In the 80’s I ran a small business, got grants and published software and articles. In the 90’s I took a job where they asked me to focus my work more internally and supportively to others in the organization. I got fewer grants and second authored with faculty and grad students. In 2000, I moved to my current job and have been an internal-facing part of the administrative team, working mostly with the technical staff. My vitae looks even more stagnant.

But Theron DesRosier pointed out to me I have portfolios of my work, and some of those portfolios are self-building, such as this blog. Further, some of the blog posts are synthetic of several posts or bodies of work. So we began discussing what grants and publications are – forward-looking and backward-looking documents that synthesize a body of work. They are milestones “recording state” in a career trajectory. A grant describes what is known about a problem, why it is interesting, what methods might be taken to explore it, what resources the grant writing team has to undertake the work and what can come from the outcomes (if achieved) of the work. Articles summarize a piece of work and what was learned from it, and perhaps what new questions are posed by the results. Both are reflective journaling. Another important piece of both grant and article writing is citation of others, indicating that the author is a member of a community of discourse.

Making a Wikipedia entry  (or more likely edits) are smaller scale rhetorical moves than an article, but in the same way they can summarize or clarify what is known by the author about a subject and build on the work of others. Other wikis may have other editorial objectives than Wikipedia, so the nature of what is captured in a page or edit might be different, but most likely it is part of a community of discourse.

I contributed items of work I did, or was associated with, to the Wikipedia page on the History of Virtual Learning Environments. You can see my contributions most readily in my Wikipedia contributions page.

Further, in some ways writing in a community wiki page may be superior to print publication because the involvement with the community of discourse is readily apparent and the subsequent changes, reversions, etc can also be seen.

To follow this direction of thinking, I need to modify my resume to find a way to showcase my electronic portfolios and the places that I document my forward-looking and backward-looking reflective milestones.

I started at the top of my most recent print CV, where it had my WSU address, and created a table to divide my WSU and physical location-based identity elements (mailing address, campus phone, campus email) from my personal identity elements (domain name, Skype, Flickr, etc.)

Then I looked at the sections. I found one called Current Software Projects way at the bottom and promoted it to the top, renamed: Current Projects. I grouped all the sections related to publications (Papers,  Book Chapters, Other Publications, Abstracts / Conference Presentations, Software Published, Grants and Contracts) as children under a new section heading: Publications/ Reflections/ Milestones. That title seemed to give me the necessary room to place some new headings that could contain electronically based publication, reflection and portfolio milestones.

I had several sections on events (Conferences Organized, Online Events, Courses Taught), which I subordinated under Events Organized: Face to face Conferences, Online Events and Courses. I did not differentiate courses as on or off line, and may later decide to collapse F2F conferences and online ones, other than the online ones were very early in Internet history and I don’t want that lost.

So now I needed to make the more recent entries in the Publications/ Reflections/ Milestones section and I got this flash that paper media are not what I want to hold those items. For one, there is the updating thing. For another, if I could handle the new publications in another way, I might be able to use them to find/ join communities of discourse.

What I realized is that I wanted to make all my new vitae entries in some other medium and then somehow aggregate them into my CV a page (that is web page.) The page should support printing as necessary.

A later post will update the results coming from trying to implement these ideas.

5 Responses to “The 21st Century Resume”

  1. One small step for man » Blog Archive » Wiki for Original Research Says:

    […] I struggled with some of these issues in my thoughts about 21st Century Resume. The traditional academic resume values publication is specific venues. Is it possible to play in that world and a Web 2.0 one — or must you choose one side of the fence or the other. […]

  2. One small step for man » Blog Archive » More on 21st Century Resume Says:

    […] (or now my portfolio) again. Looking back, I like the analysis I did a year ago thinking about a 21st Century Resume. It talks about forward-looking and backward-looking documents that serve as reflections about […]

  3. Brittny Kopsho Says:

    These are great guidelines you have made about resume composition. Everyone’s resumes are all highly unique (as it is a reflection of you as a professional) so a resume template only should be used to guide you in crafting it.

  4. Updating my resume to reflect who I am « One small step for man Says:

    […] to reflect on who I am and what I want to do, and importantly, how to communicate those ideas. As I previously noted, a resume (here) spanning 30 years of work is poorly suited to either communicate the themes of that […]

  5. Updating my resume to reflect who I am | One small step for man Says:

    […] to reflect on who I am and what I want to do, and importantly, how to communicate those ideas. As I previously noted, a resume (here) spanning 30 years of work is poorly suited to either communicate the themes of that […]

Leave a Reply

