[How To] Solutions for Wireless Problems

I have a Mac Cube running OS 10.4.x and its internal airport card died (or the motherboard’s connector died). The symptom was that it would not boot, it got stuck in the boot process. My Apple repair (great folks at University of Idaho bookstore) found that the machine ran just fine if you pulled the wireless card. So I limped along for awhile with the machine offline.

But, I really wanted to connect, and had the idea of getting a USB wireless card. I found the Belkin F5D7050 Wireless G USB Network Adapter Version 4000 supported my USB 1.1. But Belkin didn’t list Macintosh support on the box.

Some poking around found other Macintosh users with the same problem and taught me about chipsets in these devices. Torley Lives gives some directions, and points to the ralink drivers, but they support earlier versions of the Belkin device. Ralink supports many other USB adapters, its a good place to start.

Then I learned that my V4000 has the Zydas chip set.

[How To] Solutions for Wireless Problems – InsanelyMac Forum said:

Zydas USB chipset

Zydas was acquired by Atheros and the links for these drivers were taken down. However, the company ZyXel sells a device with the Zydas chipset and has posted OSX drivers.

ZD1211 and ZD1211 rev B – are installed by the same installer. It installs ZD1211.kext for ZD1211 and ZD1215.kext for ZD1211 rev B. Here are the links for the installer and for the user guide.

Atheros’ web site points to OrangeWare, which makes a driver that they will sell for $15US. So I went back to the link in InsanelyMac and got the free driver they point to. Its working. It adds a new application which launches at system startup. First time it didn’t find my network, but I think that is because I didn’t have the Belkin device plugged in during the boot process. It just finished downloading Firefox 2.0.0.8 so I think we are cooking now.

Ah, the power of the net. Thanks to all who posted pointers and to those who make free drivers.

Leave a Reply

