Tag:me

I have been struggling with how to understand and implement a Web 2.0 resume. Today it came to me that I need a new Diigo tag – “me.” I’d put this tag on stuff that is mine or about me: blog posts, pages, photos, etc. Then I would be able to get an RSS of “me.” Further, I can readily share me in different resumes for different audiences by combining tags in Diigo. [The syntax looks like: http://www.diigo.com/rss/user/nils_peterson/+ ] You, the reader of “me,” can gather evidence from the forward- or backward- looking evidence of my effectiveness. I can use tags like me+reflection to mark more reflective steps in my work. Because it’s a feed of things I’m tagging, it stays as current as my tagging.

This “feed resume” is analogous to Dave Cormier’s “feed book” and it extends thinking about my blog as my portfolio or any other one space as my PLE. It serves as both a tool to present myself, and as a vehicle for a reader to walk (via Diigo) other things that I tag and other communities that tag the things I tag.

In the case of things I write that others tag, it is a way of measuring the social capital of those things (and me). See for example what is happening around this article I co-authored in JOLT. Showcasing myself is one of the things a resume purports to do.

It seems that this same thinking can be extended to “we.” In this case, the tag to use would be for my group, in this case the Center for Teaching Learning and Technology. This thinking also makes me extend my previous suggestion about the implementing a Web 2.0 organization website with the idea that we would collectively use a WSUCTLT when we are tagging us. Which clarifies a difference. I’d been thinking about our Diigo group (CTLT and Friends) as a place we’d put stuff we found interesting AND stuff by us. This “we” tag idea lets there be a clean separation. The group is a way to share stuff we find. The “we” tag is a way to build the unit’s portfolio.

Power of Me tag

Diigo-ing a page and adding the me tag becomes an invitation to say what your role is, or claim is, to the page. It lets you build a portfolio of things on the web that are otherwise not obviously yours. It also invites that you write a reflection (in your blog) about the lessons you learned in your involvement with the page you just me-tagged.

4 Responses to “Tag:me”

  1. Joshua Yeidel Says:

    I think a “wsuctlt” (or WSUCTLT if case-sensitive) tag would work well as the “we” tag for… yes, WSU CTLT. Beyond tagging, WSUCTLT could be a Web 2.0 identity for a variety of purposes (e.g., blog account). I would be proud to be associated with it.

  2. Eduardo Peirano Says:

    Hi Nils, thank you for joining the college 2.0 community. I am interested in using Delicious, another social bookmarking tool, to create my eportfolio. I have posted Use Del.icio.us to Create Your Eportfolio « Onlinesapiens Blog. I do have a Diigo account but I am still using Delicious. I think you will have no problem creating your eportfolio in Diigo.

    Eduardo Peirano

  3. brd Says:

    Hi! I was in the EPAC chat the other day and have just now gotten to checking out your response that led me to this page. I like this very much and will think about it some more. I may have some questions for you!

    Betsy DeGeorge

  4. Not your father’s Portfolio « Community-based learning Says:

    […] The first of these requirements is most likely met with a hybrid of several Web 2.0 tools. It could be supplemented with a social bookmark service where you track yourself. […]

Leave a Reply

